Masthead image
Spong Tournament

The 46th Annual William B. Spong Tournament will be held on February 17-18, 2017.  A copy of the rules and tournament problem will be located here once they are released.  Any questions related to competing teams should be directed to Gregory Dahl at  Questions related to judges should be directed to Daniel Sinclair at

The 2016 competition included top-ranked schools from coast to coast and an impressiving judging pool consisting of thirty-two judges. Similar to past years, these judges included several members of the federal courts of appeals, state Supreme Court Justices, and federal district judges.

The 2017 problem and rules are available here!

The 2016 problem and rules are made available for reference. Travel information to Williamsburg, Virginia may be found here.

Please check this site often for updates. 

About the Spong Tournament

The William B. Spong Moot Court Tournament is an invitational tournament, which traditionally gathers top-ranked schools and judges from across the nation to debate current constitutional law ssues. The first invitational moot court tournament was held in 1972, and rapidly became one of the leading moot court tournaments in the Mid-Atlantic region. 

The Spong Tournament is named for William B. Spong, Jr., an esteemed jurist and former Dean of the William & Mary Law School from 1976 to 1985. Dean Spong ranks among Virginia's most-honored and capable statesmen, educators, and advocates. Dean Spong studied at Hampden-Sydney College before receiving his LL.B. from the University of Virginia in 1947. After being admitted to the bar, Dean Spong pursued post-graduate studies at the University of Edinburgh, Scotland. Returning to the United States, he accepted a lecture post at the College of William & Mary before entering private practice in Portsmouth, Virginia.

In 1954, Dean Spong began a long and distinguished career in public service, first as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates, then in the Virginia Senate, and finally as a United States Senator. In 1975, Dean Spong returned to lecture at William & Mary and was installed as Dean and Woodbridge Professor the following year. He remained at the law school until his retirement in 1986. Dean Spong spent his last years serving as of counsel with the firm of Cooper, Spong & Davis in Portsmouth, Virginia.

Dean Spong was a visiting scholar at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars at the Smithsonian Institute, the University of Virginia, Washington & Lee University, the University of Richmond, and the University of London. He served as president of Old Dominion University, as trustee of Hampden-Sydney College, and as a member of the Board of Visitors of both the U.S. Air Force Academy and the U.S. Naval Academy. He lectured in India, Australia, Malaysia, and Austria. Dean Spong was also the recipient of honorary degrees from Hampden-Sydney, Roanoke College, Washington & Lee, and William & Mary.

The Law School takes great pride in the legacy of Dean Spong, and the Moot Court Board takes particular pride in Dean Spong's dedication to development of the oral advocacy program. The tournament was renamed in his honor in 1986.