Masthead image
University Governance


Interim Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences – July 2011 – June 2012

Interim Dean of Research and Graduate Studies - March 2001-June 2003

Director of the Graduate Program, Physics Department -1990-1992



Elected by the faculty 

President, Faculty Assembly – AY09–10

co-Chair w/Provost, Faculty University Priorities Committee AY09-10

Vice President, Faculty Assembly – AY08–09

Chair, Faculty Assembly Liaison Committee to the Board of Visitors – AY08–09

Chair, Faculty Assembly Committee on Planning and Resources – AY07–08

Member, Faculty Assembly Executive Committee – AY07-10

Member, Arts & Sciences Faculty Affairs Committee – AY07–10

Chair, Arts & Sciences Educational Policy Committee – AY90-91

Appointed by the Provost

Chair, ‘Challenge 1’ Strategic Planning Committee – AY08–12

Member, Provost Task Force on Graduate Aid, 2007

Chair, Review Committee for Vice Dean of the Law School, 2007

Chair, A&S Dean Search Committee, AY03-04

Member, Provost’s Task Force on Economic Development, 2003

Chair, Applied Science Dept. Internal Review Committee, AY99-00