Masthead image

Current Students

Matthew Small


Matthew Baker WM '19

Effects of mudsnail egg deposition on eelgrass growth and restoration






Nat Batzel WM '19

Testing the role of the 'infant' position in juvenile and adult dolphins





Juselyn Tupik WM '19

Palatability of hemichordate adults and embryos to crustacean predators



Danie Headshot



Danielle Barnes WM '20

Salinity-induced and predator-induced plasticity in sand dollar development





Susannah Lohmann WM '20

Effects of phytoplankton abundance on larval cloning in bat stars







Julie Vu WM '20

Reductions in egg energy in bloodstars and flatworms



Layanne Abu-Bader WM '21

Biological illustration and data presentation in marine invertebrate models


Kate Dean-McKinney WM '21

Hatching plasticity in polyclad flatworms




Brianna Peterson WM '21

Effects of phytoplankton on larval cloning in the keystone seastar, Pisaster ochraceus




Amanda Yeo WM '21

Effects of gamete age on developmental success in seastars



Augie Kalytiak-Davis WM '22






Alexis Reece WM '22


Where Do Our Graduates Go?

Salma Abdel-Raheem: Marine Mammal Stranding Network

Frances Armstrong: Ph.D. program at UC Davis (Grosberg Lab)

***Recipient of NSF GRFP Award in 2013!***

Matthew Baker: Ph.D. program at Northeastern University (Trussell Lab)

***NSF GRFP Honorable Mention in 2020!***

Holly Blackburn: M.D. program at UVA

Karina Brocco French: Sarasota Dolphin Research Program

***Recipient of NSF GRFP Award in 2020!***

Haley Garrison: M.S. program at VIMS (Tang Lab)

Emily Harmon: Environmental Sciences Division at Tetra Tech

***Recipient of NSF GRFP Award in 2020!***

Anna Klompen: Ph.D. program at KU (Cartwright Lab)

***NSF GRFP Honorable Mention in 2017!***

Brooke Lowman: M.S. program at UMASS-Dartmouth (Hyun Lab)

Emily Richardson: Ph.D. program at Monash University (Marshall Lab)

Jordan Salyers: Epcot's The Seas with Nemo and Friends

Kharis Schrage: Mote Marine Lab Scallop Restoration Initiative

***NSF GRFP Honorable Mention in 2020!***

Daniel Schwab: Ph.D. program at Indiana University (Moczek Lab)

***Recipient of NSF GRFP Award in 2012!***

Mark Smithson: Ph.D. program at Washington State University (Dybdahl Lab)

Stacy Trackenberg: The Guppy Project

Connor White: M.S. program at CSU Long Beach (Lowe Lab)

***NSF GRFP Honorable Mention in 2015!***

Shelby Ziegler: Research Technician at VIMS (Duffy Lab)